Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dunluce Castle

Dunluce Castle (Photo credit: Mr Bultitude)

He fights to gain prestige and might,

He sells his soul for cheap delights.

And still he’s left just wanting more –

His lust for settling the score.

The never-lasting fuels his thirst –

His need to fill until he bursts.

It begs the question at his core:

Just what on earth am I here for? 

He’s set out on a worldly quest;

He’s always striving to be best.

But greed and gain do not fulfill:

A lonely king does rule the hill.

He’s at the top but all alone,

His kingdom but an empty throne.

This one-man island he calls home,

Ensnares him in its bitter dome.

He’s yet to find the greater goal,

The One that’s sure to make him whole.

God longs to fill his void so deep,

If only he would take the leap:

To strive for Heaven’s sacred prize,

Eternal visions in his eyes.

Will he respond to Heaven’s pull?

Will he repent to save his soul?

My husband and I are relocating to Colorado tomorrow and we may encounter a lapse in our internet service. I apologize for any delay in next week’s posting or in response to your comments. Thank you for your understanding.

Verse Of The Week:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.” – Job 1:21

What I’m Reading:

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame