Tags

, , , , , , ,

Freedom

I hope our views are not so slight,

That we begin to lose our sight;

That honest quests for gospel truth,

Elude the soul like endless youth.

A single taste – forbidden fruit –

Deception has become our suit.

With one small act mankind did fall,

And since that time we’ve sought to stall.

We’ve learned to hide or point the blame,

To bury guilt and stifle shame.

In pride we choose not to forgive,

And so in bitterness we live.

So slowly we begin to wilt,

And toward a world of darkness tilt.

Our focus shifts from love to sin;

We find ourselves in a tailspin.

It’s time we open up our eyes,

Or risk our ultimate demise.

The heavy burden we do bear,

Has brought nothing but our despair.

So why not choose to lay it down,

Before the One who wears the crown?

He sits upon the throne each day,

And longs for us to come His way.

.

Verse Of The Week:
28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” –  Matthew 11:28-30
.
(Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)
.

What I’m Reading:

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

