Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A dirty concrete cupid

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here is the story of my life:

Come learn my tale of greatest strife.

My fate it seems is firmly sealed –

My role in life is the third wheel.

Always the maid and not the bride;

A fact in which I could take pride.

I’m well aware I’m just a pawn –

A tool that’s all too often drawn,

To quench the flames of burning fire,

Reminding them of their desire.

And just as soon, I’m set aside,

Until it comes to choosing sides.

By now I’d say I am quite good –

If practice does as practice should –

At picking up those shattered hearts,

And giving them a brand new start.

But when, oh when, is it my turn?

Have I not done enough to earn?

To draw the short end of the stick,

Is now my only magic trick.

I wish and pray for one to see,

A little something more in me,

But fearing it’s too much to ask,

I hide behind a Cupid’s mask.

I’m happy for my darling friends,

But I’m still lonely in the end.

.

Verse Of The Week:
God sets the lonely in families, he leads forth the prisoners with singing. . . – Psalm 68:6
.
(Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

What I’m Reading:

The Blue Fairy Book by Andrew Lang.

