Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lit Match

Lit Match (Photo credit: Eleaf)

There’s something dwelling in this place,

That casts a shadow on my face.

That’s why my world comes crashing down,

Cementing lines into a frown.

My fears have let the darkness in –

The battle for my heart begins.

I hope one day to love again,

But not forget where I have been;

To be the better in the end,

And fell these walls meant to defend.

For I’ve become so cynical,

My view of life too clinical.

You say I’m guarded and cut off.

And yet I wonder why you scoff.

I lit the match and burnt the bridge,

And locked my heart within this fridge,

All in an effort to preserve,

What little left I have to serve.

Verse Of The Week:
17 For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; ‘he will lead them to springs of living water.’[a]‘And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.’[b]” – Revelation 7:17
(Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

What I’m Reading:

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.

