Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A Lonely World

A Lonely World (Photo credit: Sinead Fenton)

Why is it such a sin,

This longing to fit in?

Why does it feel so wrong,

To want to just belong?

Hello cruel world, it’s me…

Why can’t you let me be?

I wear your stupid mask;

I prove I’m up to task.

I play this shameful role,

And have denied my soul.

And yet you still defy –

You love to watch me cry.

But tears are not enough –

You’re eager to rebuff.

Hello cruel world, it’s me…

Will you refuse to see?

A pawn within your game;

I’m not even a name.

You boast of all my pain –

Won’t stop until I’m slain.

Hello cruel world, it’s me…

I’m here to prove I’m free.

These chains will fall away –

God hears these words I pray.

Verse Of The Week:
 18 “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated  me first. 19 If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. – John 15:18-19
(Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

What I’m Reading:

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.

