Tags

, , , , , , ,

coy

Not just another skirt,

Or a compulsive flirt.

She set out to resolve,

How things at once evolve.

She’s just “one of the guys,”

But changing in their eyes.

The shadow girl in class,

Is now a playful lass.

She said “no” to a sleaze,

He branded her a tease.

Won’t change for any boy –

Not looking to be coy.

The batting of her eyes,

Served simply to disguise,

The tears beneath the lid,

She dearly hoped she hid.

She’s searching for her place,

Not hoping they give chase.

She’s more than what they see –

The girl who died in me.

Not just another skirt,

Or a compulsive flirt.

Verse Of The Week:

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart,” says the Lord. – Jeremiah 1:5

What I’m Reading:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

