Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Light in the darkness

Light in the darkness (Photo credit: Steve-h)

Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

I often feel as though I am fighting an uphill battle against myself. Despite the best of intentions, the frailties of my humanity render worthy inclinations futile. My very nature is intrinsically weak at best and only stands to diminish under trials. I succumb to temptation as fear leads me to desert my Lord.

Battling a haze of emotional exhaustion, I’m forced to face the inadequacies of my carnal self with all its fears and failures. As my strength flags, discouragement settles and anguish deepens. My soul crumbles beneath the unbearable weight of fleshly weakness. My thoughts plague me; my days and nights are consumed in constant turmoil as I wallow in self-deprecation. Relief escapes me as I reflect upon my past with sorrow and shame. When favor is fragile and demoralization distinct, when temptations trap and afflictions arise, I tend to forget that I am no longer bound.

Though my flesh and heart may fail, God remains my strength and portion (Psalm 73:26). I need only accept His mercy, freely bestowed, for God is all too willing to pardon. With a heart subdued by sorrow and burdened by blame, I come before my Redeemer in humble confession and discover solace. I find myself at once forgiven and saturated with the tranquility and rapture that accompany genuine confession.

I can not adequately express the joy found in that moment – when my spirit, burdened with sin, is welcomed before God to lay down its sorrows and take up His mercy. What comfort to the soul!

I’m learning to retain joy even as I acknowledge sin for though I fail, the love of God prevails. He is both the source of my happiness and the foundation of my hope.

Next week I will update you on my plans for the coming month.

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

Glimpse of Hope

I hide in my own skin,

Ashamed of all my sin.

I long to just escape,

And shed this carnal shape.

Embrace the joy I’ve found,

And turn my life around.

The straight and narrow way,

Will never lead astray.

This path shall be my guide,

No longer forced to hide.

A glimpse of hope on earth,

Reminds me of my worth.

I’m more than what I’ve done,

There’s still a race to run.

Christ took upon His back,

All things which I did lack.

He took the fall for me,

He bled to set me free.

An act of loving grace,

Led Him to take my place.

And yet I turned my back,

I let my heart grow black.

But still He waits for me,

To open eyes and see.

Verse Of The Week:

The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak. – Matthew 26:41

What I’m Reading:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

