Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

Drop of water splashing

Drop of water splashing (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The night is so long when everything’s wrong

If you give me your hand

I will help you hold on

Tonight

Tonight

This is the last night you’ll spend alone

Look me in the eyes so I know you know

I’m everywhere you want me to be

The last night you’ll spend alone

I’ll wrap you in my arms and I won’t let go

I’m everything you need me to be

I won’t let you say goodbye

And I’ll be your reason why

The last night away from me

Away from me

(“The Last Night” – Skillet)

Sometimes I wonder if it is more difficult to witness someone you love struggle under the weight of unspeakable sorrow than it is to endure one’s own fiery afflictions. Be it a battle with depression or disease, a loss or a cross, an addiction or mutilation, there is an overwhelming feeling of helplessness that accompanies the observer – a desperate desire to ease a loved one’s pain melds with a sense of futility as one recognizes an inability to change circumstances. One may even go so far as to wish (to no avail) the burden upon themselves for the sake of the other.

The sheer magnitude of another’s pain can paralyze my actions and stifle my sympathies. Thoughts, words, and gestures are rendered inadequate, therefore I remain silent, I do nothing. After all each person knows best their own heartache. The most painful of our experiences we endure alone. Not one of us can fully acquire another man’s sorrow as our own, because one never altogether comprehends another.

And yet I can not remain frozen on the sidelines as my friends crash and burn. I must strive to maintain those I love. God does not forsake his own and neither should I. If what they need is a reason why, then that is exactly what I should be: Their reason why they hold on, their reason why they refuse to say goodbye.

May I not grow jaded in loving. Sometimes offering little more than a shoulder to cry on and the consent to lament is enough to lighten the unbearable weight of affliction, if only for a time. A compassionate heart and a listening ear can serve as a subtle reminder that God is merciful even when life is cruel.

If nothing else I must remember to love, for a drop of love creates a ripple that produces an enormous wake.

Next week I’ll discuss my journey to let this joy I’ve found turn my life around.

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

My Angel has a Broken Wing

My angel has a broken wing,

He’s held together by a sling.

These recent times have been unkind,

But life refuses to rewind.

No songs to sing; he’s lost his voice,

To live or die: the bitter choice.

Yet through it all, to faith he clings,

His hope will free him from these strings.

A sweet release from pain’s fierce sting,

And once again I’ll hear him sing.

His wing, in time, will one day mend,

Until then all my strength I lend.

He turned my shattered life around,

I will not lose what I have found.

He has become a part of me,

Without him here I can’t be free.

I will remind him of his might,

Together we’ll outlast this night.

Verse Of The Week:

9 Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: 10 If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. – Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

What I’m Reading:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

