Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Assembly

Assembly (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

 “Alas for those that never sing, but die with all their music in them.”

Oliver Wendell Holmes (The Voiceless)

I am convinced that each and every one of us has a song written upon the tablets of our hearts – a promise that we were created to fulfill. A celestial calling from Heaven to Heaven. A Godly summons to live a life of significance.

These songs are expressly unique to the individual; the melodies and lyrics woven together in the depths of one’s soul. Some of us carry the epic romance of a ballad within the chambers of our hearts. Others, the earnest yet melancholy strain of a lament. Still others, the whisper of a lulling lullaby or the thunder of a mighty anthem. Whatever the case may be, a common calling to discover our place in this world exists within the framework of the chords.

Heaven’s horizon is ever approaching. Whether we are given a single breath or a hundred years, eternity invariably calls. The time we’re given is much too precious to squander. We must set our hearts upon another realm and live for a higher purpose. A battle rages, hungry for more than flesh and blood.

Throughout this life we will encounter crosses – burdens, in some form or another – that threaten to silence our song before it has the chance to escape from our lips. The enemy is all to eager to steal our God-given tune.

But what if I see these trials and tragedies as opportunities? What if I use my afflictions to generate greater good for God’s glory? What if I embrace my song all the more, proclaiming it from the mountaintops, and make my life count for something? What if I fight to redeem the calamity instead of being consumed by it? God is constantly taking the bad and employing it for good, creating beauty from ashes, transforming sorrow into joy. What if I strive to do the same?

The choice is mine. I can allow my past to tarnish my present or I can, with God’s infinite strength, rise above my struggles and live a life of purpose. I can choose to be part of the solution instead of part of the problem. I can choose to leave this world just a touch brighter than I found it. Faith can conquer kingdoms. Faith can administer justice. Faith can gain what is promised.

In the quiet, in the stillness, the steady thrum of my song echos with a resounding demand. It is the whisper of God offering me the courage to do what He asks. He pleads with me to abandon a life of aimless wandering and live a life of work produced by faith, labor prompted by love, and endurance inspired by hope (1 Thessalonians 1:3). He begs me to reclaim my life, to live beyond mindless motions, to press through the difficulties in order to secure what shall never fade away – the incorruptible, imperishable crown of life and righteousness. I am called to a crown and a kingdom; may I not fall short of the prize.

We all leave a mark on this world, for better or for worse. We all leave a legacy, be it one of love or one of destruction. How shall I be remembered?

Next week I shall reflect upon the importance of clinging to faith despite the circumstances.

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

One Life to Live

One life to live,

So why not give?

A world to reach,

So why not teach?

Two hands to lend,

A message send.

A globe in need,

So plant some seeds.

A mouth to speak,

A voice to seek.

One race to run,

The crown: the Son.

Let’s make life count,

Let flow the fount.

Verse Of The Week:

With my eyes fixed on the goal I push on to secure the prize of God’s heavenward call in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 3:14

What I’m Reading:

Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie (Books of Faerie #2) by Maggie Stiefvater.

