Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

Original caption: Ne ties a friendship bracele...

Original caption: Ne ties a friendship bracelet on me, Sapa. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Friendship is a fluid condition, the strength of which tends to ebb and flow over time. Seasons come and seasons go, miles stretch between loved ones, and we become the products of happenstance. Friends are found and friends are lost as lives digress and people change and grow. Inevitably people drift apart. Try as we might, no one can hope to preserve all of their friendships forevermore. “Best Friends Forever” is harder than it sounds.

Despite this foreknowledge, most of us have (or had) those few key people who we never really expect to lose. Those people who understand us without a word spoken; who make us laugh when all we want to do is cry. The ones who embrace the good in us along with the bad; who sustain us through the darkest of days.

Those friends who are fundamentally woven into our history and memories. Not just people we want in our lives, but people we need. They are the living, breathing embodiments of our values and dreams. These friendships are rarities to be treasured and nurtured, more precious than gold or silver.

To lose one of these – not to eternal slumber, but to the turning of one’s back -rends a heart to pieces and leaves behind a dreadful void. A certain friend had such a profound impact on my life, his presence so intrinsic, that I took it for granted that he’d always be there. I am a better person for having known him. He was a constant in my life, until one day he wasn’t.

Towards the end, I feared him slipping away as I watched his presence in my life diminish, his spark becoming fainter by the day. It was too little, too late. He was harder and harder to find until at last he faded out completely. A silent exit. A broken friendship.

Why did he walk away? I used to blame him for abandoning me; it’s so much easier that way – anger trumping pain. In retrospect, I may have forced his hand. It was my choices, not his, that brought about our demise. I chose a path that left no room for him. What choice did he have but to cut his losses?

To this day, his influence lingers. I should have fought harder to hold on. Sometimes saying goodbye is just too hard.

Next week I’ll discuss the importance of making the little time we are given here on earth count for something bigger than ourselves.

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

Stranger

A stranger stares at me,

My friend you used to be.

I search within your eyes,

I try to recognize,

The man you used to be.

But all there is to see,

A shadow and a plea,

A life lost to debris.

I search to find the man,

Who ends as I began,

Who firmly held my hand,

And brought me to dry land.

When waves of life proved rough,

You never said, “Enough.”

How could it change so fast?

I truly thought we’d last.

A friend so tried and true,

And faithful through and through.

Our love was pure and sweet,

So utterly complete.

You up and walked away,

I begged for you to stay.

Now all that’s left behind,

Just memories that remind.

My only steady hope,

As I must learn to cope,

Is that one future day,

The two of us can say:

“Though times were bittersweet,

This trial we did beat.”

Will friendship grow in strength,

Connecting us at length?

Verse Of The Week:

Many will say they are loyal friends, but who can find one who is truly reliable? – Proverbs 20:6

What I’m Reading:

Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception (Books of Faerie #1) by Maggie Stiefvater.

