Tags

, , , , , , ,

Clouds

Clouds (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

I possess an active and vivid imagination. It is both my blessing and my curse. If I am not careful I could easily while away my limited existence, lost in a world of unrealities. It is an act of sheer willpower to reign in the ramblings of my fanatical mind. With my mind in constant overdrive, it is all the more difficult to decipher between my God-given desires and my self-centered ambitions.

I long to seek after God’s will, but I am constantly met with silence. I keep waiting for that lighting bolt moment. That moment of utter clarity and peace. That moment that signifies a fulfilled purpose. I find myself painfully over-analyzing every insignificant choice, surrendering to a vegetative state of indecision and inactivity. It has taken me many years to realize that God’s reticence is not His absence.

God has a plan for each and every one of us. He has filled us with a desire for purpose. God created me, He knows my heart. Maybe, just maybe, those things which I have a natural passion for, that constantly call to me, are yearnings sown by God Himself. Maybe I should not be so quick to distrust or discard my natural desires, for I may unknowingly bury righteous pursuits. All this time I have been waiting on God, maybe He has been waiting on me. To step forward in faith. To take action.

God has set in me a powerful and passionate fire. Who am I to quelch what God has fanned? If my soul’s aim is to bring glory to God, my heart becomes a reflection of His and my desires will be aligned with and for His purposes. A deep and enduring bond with my Savior aides in regulating my desires and keeps Christ in the center of my aspirations. He will harmonize my steps with guidance and direction to the tune of His perfect timing as I consider His desires. Desires that do not satisfy the hunger of flesh or indulge in idle fantasies, but desires of a heart set apart and restored.

A quote from an unknown author reads: “Faith can move mountains, but don’t be surprised if God hands you a shovel.” As long as I remain willing and open to His leading and acknowledge the fact that God may have other plans for me, I may as well start digging.

A brief side note:

My calling in life is geared toward being a vessel of light and a voice of inspiration to teens and young adults in an ever darkening world. Nothing brings me greater joy than serving as an instrument to encourage youth to fulfill their potential and grow in their walk with the Lord.

My little sister, Lydia,  is a missionary with Youth With A Mission (YWAM) serving in Queensland, Australia. She graduated from highschool last year and possesses an unshakable faith and wisdom beyond her years. She has embraced her God-given talents and passions and has chosen to live not for herself but for the Kingdom.

YWAM has a “pay your own way” mentality, therefore my sister is singularly responsible for all food, housing, visa, and outreach costs – a heavy burden for one so young. She is back home for the moment in an effort to generate support and has started a blog to aid her endeavors. If you have an extra moment, please take the time to check it out: http://therhythmofministry.wordpress.com/.

Next week I’ll discuss my struggle to find peace through all the pain.

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

Dreams:

So many things I want to do,

So many passions to pursue.

It’s time to be direct and real,

It’s time to face all that I feel.

I’m tired of grasping on to dreams,

A world that lives beneath moon beams.

My nights long spent in counting sheep,

In hopes of drifting now to sleep.

My life continues passing by,

Gone with just the blink of an eye.

The hands of time do move with haste,

A single moment dare not waste.

To get my head out of the clouds,

I must start living life out loud.

Verse Of The Week:

Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. – Psalm 37:4

What I’m Reading:

Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

