Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Easter Cross Easter Cross at night, Otley Chevin

Easter Cross Easter Cross at night, Otley Chevin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Easter Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

It is said that the first step on the road to recovery is admitting that there is a problem. Personally, I find the acknowledgment of my shortcomings to be effortless. Releasing their hold on me, however, is where the struggle lies. If there is one thing in this life that I know for sure, it is this: I am intrinsically flawed.

I am an addict and a slave – addicted to the opinions of others and enslaved by a desire for approval. In my quest to validate my worth and pacify my thirst for vanity, I have attempted to fill a void that man cannot satisfy. All these things I readily, albeit shamefully, admit.

The redirecting of my fixations is a work in progress – a daily battle. God is working in me, slowly but surely. He has stepped in to fill the God-shaped hole and focus my heart upon divine pursuits. I must not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but deny myself, take up my cross, and follow Him.

It has been a gradual transformation, marked with both sorrow and bliss. With a renewed mind I have learned to cast away my inhibitions and joyously seek God’s good, pleasing, and perfect will. Though the journey continues, I take each step with a new-found confidence, eager to face each new bend in the road.

With Easter Sunday on the horizon, I mourn over all the time I have wasted striving after the finite and I rejoice in the goodness of His pardoning grace. Basking in His divine presence, I discover anew the luminous joy of His eternal redemption. Reflecting on His love, compassion, and forgiveness, I forget the sorrows of yesterday and accept the bounty of His providence.

This Easter season, may we celebrate the fact that death has lost its sting, that the life of our precious Savior refused to yield to the grave.

Next week I touch on the importance of striving after your God-given dreams.

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

Dance

My barefoot steps depress the sugar sand,

I dance to rhythms no one understands.

A captured moment stands the test of time,

I match my heart-beat in a perfect rhyme.

The mighty thunder of the briny deep,

It stirs my soul from its enchanted sleep.

I close my eyes and let it all sink in,

I breathe in life with each and every spin.

The steady warmth of sand beneath my feet,

Does fill my heart with a peculiar heat.

And all at once the joy of letting loose,

Begins to free me from this eager noose.

And with a lightened yoke I toss aside,

My shame and hurt and all my hidden pride.

An exhibition of untainted bliss,

Can hold more passion than a lover’s kiss.

It sets a lonely spark to brilliant fire,

It fans the flames that never will expire.

A life of new abandon has begun,

True hope was found beneath a glowing Son.

A dance of beauty; just me and my Lord,

Performed to the hum of the ocean’s chord.

Verse Of The Week:

The young women will dance for joy, and the men–old and young–will join in the celebration. I will turn their mourning into joy. I will comfort them and exchange their sorrow for rejoicing. – Jeremiah 31:13

What I’m Reading:

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

