Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Winged hour-glass carving in gate to old buria...

Image via Wikipedia

Fellow Residents of Cyberspace,

During my commute to work the other day, I tuned into the Wally Show on 88.1 Way FM. The radio hosts were discussing regret and its impact on our daily life. Amid their discourse, Wally said something that struck a chord with me, “If you spend the whole time looking back, you can’t move forward.” As I sat before a glaring red light, delayed by congested traffic, I contemplated those words.

My mind is often my greatest adversary as it bemoans, belittles, and blames. Dwelling on the past has proven detrimental to my health, spiritual and otherwise. The whispers of yesterday haunt and torture. These baleful murmurs take root as I regard and contemplate their validity. Fears, foreboding, and frustrations dwell in the corners of my mind. These self-defeating intonations leave seemingly irreparable carnage in their wake and serve as a distraction.

I find myself lamenting the past and distrusting the future. As I venture forth, burdened with the frustrations of this world, discouraged and disgraced, I become frighteningly aware of a breach in fellowship with my Creator. For the Spirit God gave us is one of power, love and a sound mind not of fear (2 Timothy 1:7). I have been saved from this life of destruction.

I have but two options: Move forward or be left behind. To rise or to return. To advance or to retreat. To become frozen in time, to live in stagnation, will only hasten my descent. If I continue to brood over the forlorn past, there I will remain. For relentlessly looking back will inevitably lead to backsliding. The chains of the past will prevent me from living in the present just as surely as they will drive me to the darkest depths. Growth is continual – fundamentally woven into the fabric of the present, residing neither in the past or the future.

I must fully surrender my life to the faithful hands of God – my past, my present, and my future.

While God is, and was, and is to come, the name He chose for Himself is I AM.

Next week I will reflect upon the idiom, “Eyes are the window to the soul.”

Until Next Week,

May You Live Each Moment As If It’s Your Last,

Mandy

Weekly Reflections: (Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)

Incessant Calling

I beg of you to quiet now this voice,

Before I truly cease to have a choice.

It slowly does consume, a deadly fire,

The stealth and fumes do form a deadly pyre.

Engrossed by murmurs buried deep within,

It’s hard to stay sedate above the din.

This voice will drive me toward a bloody end,

A depth I wish I never must descend.

This everlasting call is just too loud,

My thoughts at once begin to blur and cloud.

I beg and plead for mercy – Help me please!

Before these intonations fully seize.

Discordant babble slowly chips away,

My armor just won’t last another day.

It has me caught within its iron grip,

Beneath its weight my heart begins to rip.

A baleful whisper speaks of all I hate,

I pray to God that it is not too late.

Each bitter word, a link within the chain;

Will hope of freedom come while I’m yet sane?

Once for all, silence this incessant call,

According to its will I rise and fall.

I need you now, so don’t give up on me,

Or this, right here, is all I’ll ever be.

Within your heart of hearts does lie the key,

To still this harmful voice and set me free.

The pure and simple love between two friends,

Does offer strength through faith that slowly mends.

Verse Of The Week:

Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, – Philippians 3:13

What I’m Reading:

The Power of Six – Book Two of the Lorien Legacies – By Pittacus Lore

