Tags

, , , , , , ,

images

Our tiny eyes still smile,

Resilient for a while.

But as we change and grow,

Our faith we will forgo.

This world does bend and shift,

And changes seem too swift.

Each season has an end,

And time will test a friend.

True love’s a thing of tales,

For everybody bails.

And innocence is lost,

Like buds exposed to frost.

So heavy is the weight,

Of keeping one’s path straight.

So many look to me,

And hope I hold the key.

But just like all the rest,

I fail to know what’s best.

I fear my own advice,

Cannot serve to suffice.

A secret deep within;

The source of much chagrin:

I’m just as scared, or more,

Of all life has in store.

So easy not to dare,

To put my heart out there.

This world can be so cruel,

I’m often played the fool.

Far gone are those sweet days,

Long spent in childish ways.

No more hours lost in dreams;

A victim of life’s schemes.

But I would not be me,

And I would not be free,

If soul and heart to sleeve,

Did fail to one day cleave.

To cease to dance in rain,

Would make this life my bane.

To never learn the scope,

Of puddles filled with hope,

Would be to live untrue,

And taint all that I do.

So though an easy mark,

For thoughts that are too dark,

I must choose to be real,

And live the way I feel.

.

Verse Of The Week:

 Those who plan what is good find[a] love and faithfulness. – Proverbs 14:22

.
(Disclaimer: The great depths of my sorrow can only be justly compared to the impressive heights of my joy. If you stay tuned in long enough you’ll begin to see the silver ray of hope in even the darkest of my reflections.)
.

What I’m Reading:

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain.